Never Too Old for BFFs

The thing about 30 is that time is of the essence. No, I’m not so dramatic that I feel I have one foot in the grave; what I mean is that time is of the essence because there’s so little of it in the day. When I was in my early 20s, I had all kinds of time. I could go out with my husband and my girlfriends, read three chapters of my favorite book, fold laundry, and still have a few hours left to waste my time with trash TV.

Now I have so little time that I forget basic life skills like eating my lunch at work, so when I have the rare opportunity to hang out with three of my long-time girlfriends (we’ve been through junior high and high school together), I usually jump at the chance.

Last night was one of our wild GNOs (now that we’reall 30, wild means home and in bed before midnight), and from Tami’s spontaneous and uncurable frog in the throat to Jessica’s heart-wrenching confession that her stepmom has cancer, it was comforting to reconnect to my younger self–even if for only a few hours, and it made me realize that no matter how old we get, we’re never too old to have BFFs.

Leave a Reply

